My life has been changed forever…

Yes, I had a life-changing experience today. I went to G Street Fabrics for the first time.
Apparently G Street Fabrics was started in 1941 in Northwest DC (on G St. of course).  It is now run by the founder’s son and grandson and has expanded to 4 locations (I went to the one in Centreville, VA).

This place ROCKS MY SOCKS!  Tons of fabric of every texture, color, weight, pattern that you could ever want. They cover the entire range -there’s a whole section of gorgeous designer fabric (some as much as $300/yd!) right next to an entire wall of discount $3/yd fabric.

As if their amazing variety of fabrics wasn’t enough – there’s a whole room dedicated to notions (ribbon, zippers, buttons, patches…).

And to top it all off, they offer classes. Knitting, quilting, pattern-making, fashion business & design.

I think I’ve found my new addiction…it starts with a ‘G’ and rhymes with ‘Street Fabrics’.

3 responses to “My life has been changed forever…

  1. I haven’t been to the store in Centreville as I am closer to Rockville but yes the store is great!!!!! I love looking (and touching) some of that $300/yd fabric and then dreaming about what I would make and then I wake up. 🙂

  2. If you like the Centreville, you will LOVE the Rockville Store (the flagship). It’s two longish blocks walk from the White Flint stop on the Red line of Metro – if you don’t want to drive in the usual horrid traffic. There is also a fun AC Moore craft supplies store right next to G St in Rockville.

    Also fun is the Falls Church, VA G St. Try them all! They extended the current sale through March 9th, 2008. And, there is an extra-25%-off coupon on the web site at http://www.gstreetfabrics.com

  3. As a local baby-boomer who has been shopping at G-Street for decades (with my first visit to the original downtown G-Street store), I am distressed at the changes in the store within the last 7 years or so.

    For starters, the store has eliminated their expansive book department, which contained up-to-the minute books on fashion and clothing design & construction, as well as the reference classics. WHO made the decision to cut the books, and why? The only reference material that remains for sale is a smattering of sewing periodicals. Cheap, scant, and uninviting.

    Another noticeable change is in the store atmosphere. Yes, the marvelous selection of fabric still abounds, and that will keep the place in business…for a while. But the staff is uniformly disconnected and slow, with borderline English. I asked a sales associate in the notions section to direct me to the “bodkins,” and she’d never heard the word.

    A previous blogger mentioned a recent “sale.” There are sales all the time now at G-Street, because customers no longer head to the store in droves, as they did in years past. Visit the store nowadays and it is empty, sleepy, half-dead. The legendary aura of excitement that was part of the store’s culture (crowded aisles – people from all over the world, artists, home-sewers, even nuns!) is gone.

    I think I smell a buy-out operation behind all this. We all know the script, don’t we? Whoever “bought” G-Street did so to make a killing, and has no interest in perpetuating what once was a world-class fiber-arts retail establishment.

    I’d love to write a letter to someone in charge, but alas, it’s very clear when one enters the store: There’s no one in charge.

Leave a Reply

